Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award

Peter H. Christensen

Germany and the Ottoman Railways: Art, Empire and Infrastructure

Yale University Press, 2017


Spiro Kostof Book Award

Samia Henni

Architecture of Counterrevolution: The French Army in Northern Algeria

Zurich: ETH/gta Verlage, 2017


Pamela O. Long

Engineering the Eternal City: Infrastructure, Topography, and the Culture of Knowledge in Late Sixteenth-Century Rome

Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2018


Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award

Sally McMurry

Pennsylvania Farming: A History in Landscapes

University of Pittsburgh Press, 2017


Philip Johnson Exhibition Catalogue Award

Jennifer Dunlop Fletcher and Joseph Becker, editors

The Sea Ranch: Architecture, Environment, and Idealism

San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and DelMonico Books ∙ Prestel, 2018


Founders' Award

Michael Abrahamson

“Actual Center of Detroit”: Method, Management, and Decentralization in Albert Kahn's General Motors Building

Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Vol. 77 No. 1, March 2018


Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award

Wilhelmina F. Jashemski (1910–2007), Kathryn L. Gleason, Kim J. Hartswick, Amina-Aicha Malek, editors

Gardens of the Roman Empire

Cambridge University Press, 2018


SAH Award for Film and Video

Hanwen Zhang, Director

The First Line of China

Hanwen Zhang, Producer, 2018


Honorable Mentions:

Joseph Hillel, Director

City Dreamers

Ziad Touma, Producer, 2018


Rima Yamazaki

Learning from Buffalo