This past year, 240 reviewers read and made suggestions to enhance the articles that have appeared in the pages of American Biology Teacher. This is truly impressive. Collectively these individuals have examined every article that passed initial editorial review and then offered hundreds if not thousands of total comments to our authors allowing them to make their good articles great.

In addition to these peer reviewers there are many others whose work is vital to the smooth operation of ABT each year. In 2016, we received 133 submissions and each of these articles was extensively evaluated first by me and then passed on to one of our reviewing editors who assigns the peer reviewers and coordinates the list of suggestions for authors.

It would be impossible to give the high-quality feedback to authors in a timely fashion without the contributions of the reviewing editors. So, join me in thanking Peggy Ward (who recently earned her Ph.D.), Kim Murie, Kevin Bonney, Emily Weigel and Assistant Editor Kathy Westrich for their efforts. Kathy has the additional responsibility of selecting the images that grace the cover of American Biology Teacher. She also works with the photographer to write the cover blurbs and interacts with our graphic designer to render the final cover each month. Peggy Ward has stepped down from her role but our team will now include Lance Forshee as our newest reviewing editor – thanks much to both.

In 2016 we were very well served by our department editors Elizabeth Cowles (Book Reviews), Remy Dou (Classroom Materials and Media) along with Douglas Allchin who writes the column Sacred Bovines. Other unsung heroes of the ABT team include Managing Editor Mark Penrose, Copyeditor Richard Earles, graphic designer Michelle Finney and the team at University of California Press. Starting in 2017 we will be joined by new copyeditor Cher Paul and new book review editor Amana Glaze. Welcome to both Cher and Amanda and thanks very much to Liz and Richard for your long and much appreciated service!

We all appreciate the support of NABT members Bill Heyborne, Lance Forshee (who is joining the editorial team) and Katrina Kirsch who serve on the Journal Advisory Committee. If you are interested in serving on this committee, please contact me or our Executive Director Jacki Reeves-Pepin who takes a very active and supportive role in ensuring that ABT is the high-quality journal we have all come to expect.

No ABT “thank you” would be complete without acknowledging the authors who have written for our journal and then “suffer” – often with exceptional good cheer and even gratitude –through the submission and revision process.

I will end on a personal note by saying that it remains a joy for me to serve as ABT editor and work with this extraordinary group of more than 300 authors, reviewers and many others. Only together are we able to produce nine issues of such an enlightening, useful, engaging, and informative journal in support of the vital community of biology and life science educators and their students!

The National Association of Biology Teachers thanks the many individuals listed below for their thoughtful reviews of manuscripts during 2016. Asterisk denotes that the reviewer completed more than one review.

Kathleen Westrich,* Andrew Brower,* Amanda Glaze,* Cory Kohn,* W. Jason Niedermeyer,* Christine Ambrosino,* Michael Amolins,* Stacy Apazeller,* Tara Bal,* Meena Balgopal,* Roberta Batorsky,* Jose Ramon Blas,* Julie Bokor,* Glenn Branch,* Stephen Burnett,* Joseph Calmer,* Elijah Carter,* James Cavanagh,* Angela Chapman,* Eliza Cohen,* Joel Cohen,* Sehoya Cotner,* Dana Haine,* Tyler Hallman,* John Harper,* Cheryl Ann Hollinger,* Tina Hubler,* Wendy Johnson,* Judith Jones,* Amy Lark,* Russell Ligon,* Steven Lysne,* Shana McAlexander,* Fran Norflus,* Eva Ogens,* Michael Plotkin,* Scott Stein,* Parker Stuart,* Kemassi Abdellah, Mia Abrie, Mohammad Abu Baker, Patti Adams, Bárbara Aguiar, Nancy Aguilar-Roca, Anna Aguilera, Adam Ahlers, Shazia Ahmed, David Allard, Trevor Anderson, Nicole Anthony, Nandhini Ashok, Michael Ayers, Deana Baker, Vikram Baliga, Maryann Barnes, Alessandra Barrera, Lloyd Barrow, Chris Barton, Kristen Batko, Sarah Bauer, Sarah Bennett, Matthew Benus, Minda Berbeco, Barbara Berchiolli, Craig Berg, Adam Bergeron, Karen Bernd, Kelsie Bernot, Judy Birschbach, Andrea Bixler, Mark Bland, Kevin Bonney, Carol Bourke, Terry Bramschreiber, Eric Brenner, Steven Brewer, Rachel Bricklin, E Broder, Briana Brown, Heather Brown, Carrie Bucklin, Uriel Buitrago-Saurez, Tracy Byrne, Patrick Calie, Michael Calver, Christina Campbell, Melissa Caspary, Kenneth Chapin, Abour Cherif, Kimberly Cherry Vogt, Sarah Chudyk, Heidi Cian, Emine Cil, Alex Collier, Sandra Connelly, Robert Cooper, Felicia Corsaro-Barbieri, Dillon Crockett, John Crooks, Mary Curran, Pedram Daneshgar, Kristy Daniel, Shiladitya DasSarma, Josef De Beer, Peggy Deichstetter, Susan Dodge, Meredith Dorner, Mike Dorrell, Brian Drayton, Daniel Dreesmann, Jaime Duran, Kirk Ehmsen, Nancy Elwess, Megan Faliero, Fardad Firooznia, Matthew Fisher, Rachel Fisher, Lawrence Flammer, Christine Fleet, Susan Flowers, Andrew Gall, Grant Gardner, Richard Gardner, Gretchen Geiger-Thornsberry, Donovan German, Cynthia Gibson, Teresa Golden, Rebecca Gonda, William Good, Walter Goodman, Timothy Goodwin, Christine Gray, Michelle Green, Matthew Grilliot, Federico Guerra, Laine Gurley, David Hale, Paul Hanson, Melissa Haswell, Valerie Haywood, Matthew Heard, Renee Hesselbach, Beth Hines, Sandra Horikami, Ava Howard, Margaret Hudson, Karen Huffman, Barbara Hug, Jonathan Jackson, Jamie Jensen, Robert Kao, Erango Kellbisow, William Kimler, Yi Kong, Michele Korb, Melissa Kosinski-Collins, William Kroen, Amy Kulesza, Alicja Lanfear, Ryan Langendorf, Kwok-chi Lau, Cathy Lee, Sean Leugers, Isaac Ligocki, Melanie Link-Perez, Debra Linton, Margaret Lucero, Quent Lupton, Erika Machtinger, Kathy Malone, Amy Marion, Pamela Marshall, David Martin, Rick Martin, Scott Mateer, Megan Mayo, Jacqueline McLaughlin, Thomas Mennella, Preetha Menon, Mark Milanick, Carey Minteer, Michael Moore, Kimberly Murie, Rita Nahta, Traci Ness, Kevin Niemi, Priscilla Nyamai, Brian Olechnowski, Alexandra Owens, Nancy Pelaez, Isabel Perez, John Peters, Ralph Preszler, Rebecca Price, Niels Proctor, Annie Prud'homme-Genereux, Gillian Puttick, Vanessa Quinn, Rosanne Quinnell, Karen Resendes, Vikki Rodgers, Claudia Russo, Jaime Sabel, Jeff Sack, Richard Deanne Sagun, Cassandra Saitow, Anita Schuchardt, Alexandre Selvatti, Alexandra Simmons, James Smith, Mike Smith, Dave Smullin, Phil Stephens, Isaac Stewart, Paul Strode, David Stronck, Kelsey Stuart, Molly Stuhlsatz, Milind Suraokar, Ryan Tainsh, John Taylor, Aimée Thomas, Edward Tivnan, ChingMei Tseng, L.K. Tuominen, Bertha Vazquez, Janet Vigna, Julio Voltolini, Robert Wallon, Deena Wassenberg, Ben Wasserman, Jennifer Weber, Emily Weigel, Amy Weimer, Tim Werner, Alexander Werth, Brad Williamson, Kirsten Work, Matthew Wund, Jennifer Zettler,